Saturday, July 21, 2007

L.A.Law stars Michael Tucker & wife Jill Eikenberry at Borders Books on Michigan Avenue



Discussion & Book Signing for Living in a Foreign Language: A Memoir of Food, Wine, and Love in Italy

From award-winning actor Michael Tucker comes a lush and delicious memoir about food, family and finding home in a faraway place. In the tradition of Frances Mayes and Peter Mayle, Living in a Foreign Language encapsulates a dream come true of leaving the frenetic city life and moving to a new and exotic slower place. Michael Tucker is the author of I Never Forget a Meal: An Indulgent Reminiscence and a veteran stage, film, and television actor. He is perhaps best known for his role on the long-running television series L.A. Law, which he starred in opposite his wife, Jill Eikenberry and for which he received three Emmy Award nominations.


Photo: copyright © Linda Matlow/Pix724.com...All rights reserved
Photos may not be used published or distributed in any manner without written license from: www.pixintl.com

Sunday, July 15, 2007

Actress Jacqueline Bisset honored by the Chicago International Film Festival




Actress Jacqueline Bisset was honored with the with its prestigious Gold Hugo Award for Career Achievement by the Chicago International Film Festival.
Michael Kutza the festivals director presented the award to her.
Director Ted Kotcheff and his wife attended as did Roger Ebert and wife Chaz.
The event was at the Sheraton Chicago Hotel & Towers




Photo: copyright © Linda Matlow/Pix724.com...All rights reserved
Photos may not be used published or distributed in any manner without written license from: www.pixintl.com

Author Jackie Collins at Borders Books


Jackie Collins
Reading and Book Signing for Drop Dead Beautiful. Borders Books on Michigan Avenue.

Joan Collins younger sister looks amazing. Seems like yesterday that I photographed her on AM Chicago...The show that was on at 9am before Oprah Winfrey came to town!


The bestselling author of Lovers & Players returns with her 25th fabulous novel and her most beloved character...Get ready for the scandalously scintillating read only Jackie Collins can deliver! Lucky Santangelo is back with a vengeance--still every bit as strong, sexy, and seductive as ever! But Lucky is older and wiser, and hot to reclaim her power position in Las Vegas.


Photo: copyright © Linda Matlow/Pix724.com...All rights reserved
Photos may not be used published or distributed in any manner without written license from: www.pixintl.com

Amazing new talent performs at Borders for lunchtime crowd



R&B singer Chrisette Michele Performance and Signing for I AM at Borders Books on Michigan Avenue.

New talent that actually writes coherent empowering lyrics and can sing!

She's going to be a major talent. You heard it here first!

urrounded by music since she was a small child, twenty-three year old singer, songwriter and composer Chrisette Michele has been blessed with an old soul and this Long Island bred songwriter and vocalist has a deep appreciation for the harmonic foundations that includes gospel and jazz. Her debut, "I Am," is arguably the most interesting, loveliest bow from a female R&B singer this year.


Photo: copyright © Linda Matlow/Pix724.com...All rights reserved
Photos may not be used published or distributed in any manner without written license from: www.pixintl.com

Floyd Landis at Borders Books


Floyd Landis Discussion & Book Signing for Positively False.
The event was at Borders Book Chicago.


In Positively False, Floyd Landis tells his compelling life story–from being born into a strict Pennsylvania Mennonite family, where he cultivated an unlikely passion for bicycle racing, to riding alongside Lance Armstrong for three of Lance’s seven Tour wins before leaving to become a team leader in his own right. He will also take on his accusers in the doping scandal that has tainted his career.
Floyd discussed his book with the audience and also mentioned he had a nice bike ride on the bike ppath earlier that day.

Chances are he walked across the street to his event since there really is nowhere to park a bicycle on The Mag Mile!


Photo: copyright © Linda Matlow/Pix724.com...All rights reserved
Photos may not be used published or distributed in any manner without written license from: www.pixintl.com

Gabe Kaplan--Welcome Back Kotter ! at Borders books


Gabe Kaplan – Discussion and Book Signing for 'Kotter’s Back' – Borders Michigan Avenue location.


Thirty years ago, if you wanted to pull a prank on someone, you’d toss out a few banana peels and hope that some sucker would slip. But with the advent of the internet, pranksters have enjoyed a new revolution in their tomfoolery, reveling in the anonymity that the web has to offer. That said, however, name recognition can also have its perks when pulling pranks on unsuspecting web-dwellers. Enter Gabe Kaplan of 1970s Welcome Back, Kotter fame. In Kotter's Back, Gabe Kaplan shows us that with the right sense of humor and a gullible recipient, checking your inbox can truly become an uproarious adventure.


Fans enjoyed hearing Gabe's memoirs from working on one of the most popular tv shows of the 1970s...'Welcome Back Kotter.' John Travolta got his start on ths show as 'Vinnie'.


Photo: copyright © Linda Matlow/Pix724.com...All rights reserved
Photos may not be used published or distributed in any manner without written license from: www.pixintl.com